Freeholders Announce 2016 Scholarship Winners

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Trenton – The Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders recently announced the recipients of the 2016 Freeholder’s Scholarship to attend Mercer County Community College. This year’s scholarship winners will be honored at the Freeholder Board’s July 14 Formal Meeting, which will be held at the East Windsor Township Municipal Building, 16 Lanning Boulevard at 6:00 PM.

The goal of the Freeholders' scholarship is to encourage Mercer County students to attend Mercer County Community College (MCCC). In doing so, the scholarship program provides financial assistance to high school seniors who possess a minimum GPA of 2.8 and have plans to attend MCCC in the fall. This year, the Board was able to award 13 scholarships.

The scholarship winners were chosen by their respective high school guidance counselors. Scholarship recipients will receive $1,000 for their first year at MCCC and a second $1,000 will be awarded to those students who successfully complete their first year.

“Mercer County Community College offers a wide array of higher education opportunities, the conveyance of three area campuses, and transfer programs to some of the finest four year institutions in the nation,” said Freeholder Andrew Koontz. “I would like to personally congratulate this year’s winners.”

The following is a complete list of recipients and their respective schools:


High School

Ziara Miller-Montgomery


Cristaly Marmol

Hamilton High West

Alba Gamboa


Joshua Hubbard

East Windsor

Rebecca Giangrasso

Hopewell Valley

Samuel Lowe

Hopewell Valley

Omar Gibbs


Maria Fayyaz


Abel Onofre


Jacqueline Leszcynski


Michael Nowik


Vivian Javier

Trenton Central West

Rob Camacho

WW-P South